top of page
Search

The things we do in the name of history…

So today I am blogging from inside my closet.


*record scratch* *freeze frame* I bet you’re wondering how I got here.


It all started when a prof suggested that recording a podcast inside a walk-in closet could be a good way to reduce echo in the recording. Add in the fact that it was close to 30 degrees today with roughly 70% humidity. And then add in the fact that my apartment is on the 10th floor and doesn’t have air conditioning.

Long story short, I decided to do a trial run of a recording to see if it would actually work. After a few minutes, I realized that while it may work, my closet was waaaaaay too warm to sit in for over 15 minutes to record my podcast so I decided to try a different locale…however, the door would not open.

Furiously texting my roommate “I kid you not, I’m stuck in my closet” while she was grocery shopping may have been the highlight of her day, but the second worst part of mine (I also dropped my Starbucks this morning).


While I sat in my closet trying to accept my fate and preparing to make it my new home, I decided first to blog about my experience and second that maybe if I body-slammed my door hard enough, I could force it to open.

With a few new bruises on my person and an interesting story to tell, I am now on the hunt for a new podcast-recording location.

* Blog post about successful (hopefully) completion of my podcast to follow soon.

41 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page